Sunday Bests // A Tad 1950s

Hello again! I’m back for Sunday Bests, a series filled with the outfits I wear to church. Last week was crazy and brimming with things to do! Haven’t we all had those days when we wake up and the only thing that gets out us of bed is the thought that we can get back in it after 16 hours of “life.” I find that when my schedule is overflowing, one of the first things to float away is time to put together a great outfit. I managed to piece this outfit together 20 minutes before we had to leave for church, and loved it so much that I wore it all day! In my neck of the woods, Fall has finally arrived and has chilled the air down to coat temperature, so this outfit kept me nice and warm.  Without further ado, here is a tad 1950s outfit!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A Tad 50s, Simply Megan Joy Blog 7.jpg

A Tad 50s, Simply Megan Joy Blog 5.jpg

I love all the accessories that go with this outfit! The scarf, pin, and belt completes the Laverne and Shirley look. After a Sunday night bluegrass concert, we stopped at McDonalds for drinks. I’m not joking when I tell you that “Rock Around the Clock” was playing as we sipped our sodas! I just wasn’t brave enough to get up and start a jive 🙂

A Tad 50s, Simply Megan Joy Blog 8.jpg

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I’m actually wearing my belt inside out and backwards. I didn’t have a black belt so I took one with bright red Chinese dragons on it and turned it inside out and used the black side, putting the jeweled buckle in the back which was covered by my hair. (Another good reason for long hair!)

A Tad 50s, Simply Megan Joy Blog 13.jpg

It’s just lovely when you walk into your Sunday School room and find a table full of flowers to take home! This bunch matched the band around my sleeves and my coat buttons wonderfully! To me, flowers are more than just some extra color. Flowers are happiness!

Little yellow flowers

Dancing in the breeze

Little yellow flowers

Huddled round the trees

Little yellow flowers

Seemed to know my pain

Little yellow flowers

In my mem`ry will remain

Valerie Dohren

A Tad 50s, Simply Megan Joy Blog 9.jpg

Today was a 1950s day, with lovely flowers, a bluegrass concert, and a Happy Days enthused McDonald’s visit! Can Sundays get any more interesting?

……………………………………………………………………….

Skirt: thrifted

Sweater: thrifted

Shoes: Payless

Pin: thrifted

Scarf: My mom’s

Belt: thrifted

………………………………………………………………………..

Do you like the 1950s styles and TV shows?

Do you see flowers as more than just some extra color?

Do you have any useful clothing hacks?

…………………………………………………………

Megan Joy

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Bests // A Tad 1950s

Leave a Reply!

