Sunday Bests // The Rust Colored Garment

Hello everyone! It’s time for Sunday Bests again! I have been waiting to wear this dress ever since I found it in the Summer! I got it at a flea market for a few dollars and fell in love with the shape of the dress! It reminded me of a dress worn by Katharine Hepburn in the 1938 movie “Bringing Up Baby” (one of my favorite movies)! I was a little nervous as to how to it would look because of its odd style. It was hand-sewn by someone many decades ago and has a zipper down the front, a sort of turtle neck collar, a belt, and an odd extra bit of fabric which I think is to be worn as a tie. I left out the tie this time but will try to style it with the outfit someday!

the-rust-colored-garment-6-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-2-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-4-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-9-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-3-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-7-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-8-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-10-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-11-simply-megan-joy

These earrings once belonged to my Great Aunt and I just love wearing them. They’re little white roses carved out of wood and they are probably many decades older than the dress!

the-rust-colored-garment-14-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-13-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-15-simply-megan-joy

the-rust-colored-garment-1-simply-megan-joy

Here I am, staring into the sunset, which I wouldn’t recommend.

So, this is a very odd dress, but I still love it. It makes me feel like such a vintage soul! One thing that I think would be fun to have for this outfit is short hair! Again, another post where I didn’t do anything to my hair! When will I ever learn?

………………………………………………………………….

Dress: thrifted, flea market

Hat: Kohl’s

Shoes: Payless

Earrings: once my Great Aunt’s

………………………………………………………………………

Did you ever find an odd piece of clothing at a flea market?

Have you ever seen the 1938 movie “Bringing Up Baby”?

……………………………………………………………………………

Megan Joy

 

3 thoughts on “Sunday Bests // The Rust Colored Garment

Leave a Comment!

