Fourteen Years and Counting!

Fourteen and Counting Simply Magan Joy Blog.JPG

Hello friends! Today marks my 14th anniversary as a Follower of Christ! I can remember that day. It was spring 2003, and we had just moved into a new house. I was sitting under the keyboard of our 1911 upright piano, when I prayed and asked God to come into my heart. My mom prayed with me and we said, “Amen.” I opened my eyes and lifted my head. I expected to feel different, but I didn’t. I felt the same as before I closed my eyes. But why? I was now registered for eternal life in Heaven! So why didn’t I feel different?

It’s a question that has arrived to many Christians I know. Why don’t we feel different right after accepting Jesus into our hearts? I think that I can narrow the question down to two answers.

1. It’s not magic.

Once we let God into our hearts, there isn’t an automatic switch that turns on a flashing neon light above our heads that says, “Now I’m a Christian and now I’m different!” It’s not like that. It’s not a spell cast upon us to make us good in every way. Instead, the Holy Spirit enters our heart and lives there forever, helping us make the right choices. Revelation 3:20 says, “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him. . .” This is the Holy Spirit saying that all we have to do is open the door and let God into our hearts.

2. We have to live in Christianity to notice a difference.

Living our lives for God is the only way for us to notice that we are different as Christians. We’ll see a difference in the decisions we make, the things we think, say, and do, and the even the way we dress. We can say we’re a Christian, disobey God, make bad choices, and not feel any different or we can live for Him, and know that we are different.

In my 14 years of Christianity, I noticed how I’ve changed, but it certainly wasn’t an instant change! Christianity didn’t “transform” me right then and there. I’m sure that I made some bad choices after that day in 2003, but it took time living as a Christian to see the change in myself.

If you’ve read this far, I hope I haven’t bored you with my mini theological rant! But today is special for me as it celebrates the 14 years that I’ve had to gain knowledge and wisdom as a Christian.

I hope that you guys have a lovely day and maybe take time to see how much you’ve changed over the years!

………….

Did you feel the same as I did after accepting Christ?

Have you noticed a change in yourself over the years?

Are you really tired of my theological rants?

……………..

Megan Joy

One thought on “Fourteen Years and Counting!

  1. Dandy says:

    I was four years old when God came into my heart. I can remember that I was with my sister (Megan Joy) in the doorway to our kitchen!

    Like

Leave a Reply!

