Quote of the Week // 15th Week

Quote of the Week - 15th Week Simply Megan Joy Blog.png

Eleanor Powell is known as one of the best tap dancers in the Golden Age of Hollywood! She starred in several MGM films, was sometimes compared to Fred Astaire, and was named the World’s Greatest Tap Dancer because of her lightning-fast feet work.

I had to read this quote three times before I understood it. But the funny part is, I’ve been thinking about this subject a lot recently. What Powell is saying is that God has given each of us the great gift of life, and what we do with that life can be our gift to God.

The other day I was at work, when I came to realize some things that I hadn’t thought about in a while. I’m always asking God for things, for advice, for strength, and for help. That’s the easy part; asking for things. The second step is to thank God for things. But we could even take it a step further and ask; What could I do for God today? Instead of just asking, thanking, and asking some more, I should also be willing – willing to do anything for God.

I shouldn’t just live my busy life down here on Earth and wait for God to call upon me with a commandment or task to perform. I should be waking up every day and asking, “Lord, what do you want me to do today?” As His servants, we should be diligent and willing to serve Him, regardless of what he gives us in return.

……………………….

Are you fond of this quote?

Have you ever heard of Eleanor Powell?

When was the last time you asked God for something?

When was the last time you asked God what you could do for Him?

…………………..

Megan Joy

Leave a Comment!

