Homeschooling 101

Hello everyone! Today I’m going to talk about homeschooling!

Ever wonder how some homeschooled students have started their own business, published books, or finished their first year of college before graduating high school? It’s because homeschoolers have more free time than those who go to school. When homeschooling, there’s no down time with bus traveling, no rushing to class, no cafeteria food, and no waking up at crazy early hours in the morning! We follow our own schedules and not the ones set by the school district (because life is too short to spend 8 hours in a classroom).

I’ve been homeschooled my entire life and wouldn’t like it any other way. I am just one of the nearly 2 million students who are homeschooled in the U.S.

Now I can’t speak for all homeschoolers, but for homeschooling in general. Every family is different and has different ways of homeschooling due to state laws and such. For instance, one state requires that homeschoolers complete 180 school days a year, make a portfolio of their work, have it examined by an evaluator, then turn in this evaluation to the school district, and take some standardized tests every few years. A different state requires that homeschoolers file an affidavit to function as a small private school, while others simply suggest that you notify the school district that you are homeschooling.

Perhaps you know a homeschooler. Maybe he/she is your best friend, or just that kid that you stay away from, or maybe the person who you’re curious of because they’re different. Either way, I would like to share some of the questions I get as a homeschooler.

Why did your parents decide to homeschool - Simply Megan Joy Blog.png

One of the reasons I’m homeschooled is because my parents didn’t want to send their children away for 8 hours a day, 180 days a year, for 12 years. That’s 1,440 hours a year and 17,292 hours in 12 years. If you break that down, that’s a total of 720 full days of your childhood spent away from your family. Another reason is because of my severe peanut allergy. I probably wouldn’t survive in a school where peanut foods are popular.

Do you think you’d like public school better -Simply Megan Joy Blog.png

I know for sure that I like homeschooling better than attending public school, but I would love to go to school for a day for the experience! It’s always good to experience what someone else’s life is like so that we may have more understanding of that person.

How do you make friend - Simply Megan Joy Blog.png

Homeschoolers make friends just like everyone else does; by getting to know someone and learning things about them. How else would someone make friends? In public schools, students are set in a “sea” of other students and thought of as popular if they have a multitude of friends. Homeschoolers may not have a huge group of people their own age from which to choose friends, but we do have a larger daily “pond”. While public school students must stay in classrooms and see the same people all day, the homeschooler may go to the park, the library, museum, art gallery, on a field trip, and even to the grocery store and make friends!

Do you get to do school in your pajamas - Simply Megan Joy Blog.png

Quick answer – yes, if we want to, unless we go to the park or library to do school!

So, I guess you do lots of extra activities to be social, right - Simply Megan Joy Blog.png

Um, what was that heavy pronunciation on the word, “right?” Anyway, to answer the question – while I am known to do some activities like Irish dancing, horseback riding, orchestra, archery, historic reenacting, and things like that, I don’t do them to be “social.” I do them because I enjoy doing them, not to please those who think that I’m not appropriately socialized. Even for preschoolers, their parents are concerned with their little toddlers not being social, so they send them to preschools and daycares. Some school districts have even tricked parents into thinking that sending your child to preschool is the law, when really, it’s not! To be frank, I think that the whole “social world” is over-rated anyway. Why run the rat race if you don’t have to? I could continue to rant about socialization, but I think I’ll stop here!

………………………………..

So, while I get these questions a lot, I don’t mind answering them when asked. I like when people are interested in homeschooling and care enough to ask about it. I’m always happy to promote homeschooling when I get the chance!

……………………..

If you’re homeschooled, you probably get most of these questions from friends or strangers. How would you answer these questions?

If you aren’t/weren’t homeschooled, do you know of any homeschoolers near you?

Would you rather be homeschooled or go to public school?

……………….

Megan Joy

 

2 thoughts on “Homeschooling 101

  1. Claire Rachel says:

    Hi, Megan! I just found your blog (actually, because you started following mine; you are my first one!! 😉 )!!! But I love your style, and you answers on homeschooling are very true. (I am homeschooled by the way. 🙂 ) I am looking forward to more of your posts!!!!
    God bless,
    Claire Rachel ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment!

